

To: Chair and Members of the Standards Committee Date: 28<sup>th</sup> April, 2011

Direct Dial: 01824 706204

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Sir/Madam

You are invited to attend a meeting of the Standards Committee on Friday, 6<sup>th</sup> May, 2011 at 10.00 a.m. in Conference Room 2, County Hall, Ruthin.

Yours sincerely

Jane Kennedy Acting Head of Corporate Governance

#### **AGENDA**

### Part 1: The press and public are invited to attend this part of the meeting

## 1. Apologies

#### 2. Declaration of interests

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

### 3. Urgent matters as agreed by the Chair

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

#### 4. Minutes

Minutes of a meeting of the Standards Committee held on Friday 11<sup>th</sup> March 2011 (copy enclosed).

## 5. Attendance at Meetings

To note the attendance by Members of the Standards Committee at County, Town and Community Council.

#### 6. Overview of complaints to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales

To provide the Standards Committee with an overview of complaints against Town and Community Councillors and County Councillors and to inform the Committee of the proposed development of a 'Self Regulatory Protocol' regarding complaints (report to follow)

## 7. North Wales Standards Committee meeting

A verbal report by the Monitoring Officer to advise the Standards Committee of the North Wales Standards Committee meeting which took place on the 15<sup>th</sup> April 2011 and to advise of the next North Wales Standards Committee meeting of Standards Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs and Monitoring Officers on the 10<sup>th</sup> June 2011 at 10.00 am at Conwy Business Centre, Llandudno Junction to further scope out a North Wales specific event.

# 8. Presentation on the role of the Standards Committee and the Member's Code of Conduct

A welcome presentation to the new Town and Community Council Member on the role of the Standards Committee and overview of the Members' Code of Conduct.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

Independent Members:

Mr C.B. Halliday (Chair), Mr G.F. Roberts (Vice-Chair), Mrs P White, Ms M E Medley

Town/Community Council Member:

Councillor D E Jones

County Councillors: Councillor G A Green

Councillor H LI Jones

## COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils